This Geek

Just farting in the wind…

Archive for July 30th, 2004

Funny thing, scammers

There’s a bunch calling themselves “The European Domain Bureau” phoning companies telling them that “someone” is trying to register domains in the .com and .net top level domains (or wherever) similar to their company names, and that they would be prepared to register the domains on your behalf, but you had to do it NOW (for 200 pounds sterling per domain), and you would have NO legal recourse if someone else registered your domains.

Right.

I think they’re desperately hoping you’re a sucker, and that you haven’t heard of ICANN.

Their website is www.theeuropeandomainbureau.com, and if you like, you can phone them on +441792646462.

If you go to their website, you must definitely click on the ‘About Us’ link. It’s quite funny, considering what they’re doing. I also like how they claim they were founded in 2001, but the domain was only registered in March 2004.

I wonder how many unknowing people they’ve caught so far?