Incoherent Keyboard Bashing
Funny thing, scammers
There’s a bunch calling themselves “The European Domain Bureau” phoning companies telling them that “someone” is trying to register domains in the .com and .net top level domains (or wherever) similar to their company names, and that they would be prepared to register the domains on your behalf, but you had to do it NOW (for 200 pounds sterling per domain), and you would have NO legal recourse if someone else registered your domains.
Right.
I think they’re desperately hoping you’re a sucker, and that you haven’t heard of ICANN.
Their website is www.theeuropeandomainbureau.com, and if you like, you can phone them on +441792646462.
If you go to their website, you must definitely click on the ‘About Us’ link. It’s quite funny, considering what they’re doing. I also like how they claim they were founded in 2001, but the domain was only registered in March 2004.
I wonder how many unknowing people they’ve caught so far?
Comments are closed.
about 5 years ago
I got called by this bunch yesterday and smelt a scam from T+1 seconds. Apparently someone was trying to register names associated with my company and we had the right to first refusal.
I’ve done a D&B and Companies House search and they don’t exist. I’ve been stringing them along for the last 24 hours and they think I’m suckered. They’ve now admitted they are a sole trader with no company registration – and they want £200 for a 10-year .co.uk registration that they will supply as a 2-year registration with rolling renewal – yeah, like that’s gonna happen!! A 2-year .co.uk name elsewhere is currently £10 = £50 for 10 years.
They want another £200 for a .net name that costs £99 elsewhere for 10 years.
They are using a front organisation calling themselves “Online Media Services” (who also don’t “exist”). They’ve given a London address which of course is a correspondence address.
They sent me a proforma invoice and the address for the European Domain Bureau is that of a Mortgage Brokers/Overseas Property Consultants/Florists in Wales. Probably another mail forwarding address.
They also admitted that any payment to one organisation was a payment to the other.
The ’supervisor’ I spoke to after the cold call from another person gave her name as Samantha Carter. Like the previous time we were cold called like this, she appears to be calling from Wales. Information I’ve dug up on both organisations leads back to Wales (Swansea or Flintshire). Is there nothing else to do in Wales than sit in a call centre scamming?
about 5 years ago
I just got a call from these loons too. Pretty smart, phoning up one of the biggest ISPs in the UK to try to sell them a domain name!
I strung them along until they gave an address in Mold, Flintshire, and then gave the hapless scammer a lecture on why he was being very naughty.
I’ve spoken to Flintshire trading standards and they are well aware of this mob – they’ve been going for about 7 weeks now and although they aren’t operating out of Mold they give an address there.
They have compiled a dossier and are forwarding to the DTI who will then likely take action against them under the Enterpise act, good news!
about 5 years ago
Our sales director just had a call from this mob but luckily he directed the call to IT. Do these people not know that IT departments take care of domain registrations and are not thick? I thank you guys for posting this info as it confirmed our thoughts. By the way, they also gave us a number to call that doesn’t exist: 0871 871 9526. Make a note!
about 5 years ago
I just had a call from these people myself…. they’ve now got a new number
0871 7344062
funny how it changes every minute!!!!
about 5 years ago
Wow, I’m impressed at the amount of comments my post generated. It’s quite impressive for my site at any rate
Glad to have been of help.